Tickets and Fares

On suburban railway lines H5, H6, H8 and H9, the tariff on Budapest section is valid within the administrative border of Budapest, while on the suburban section it is possible to travel with tickets and passes that depends on the distance.

On suburban railway line H7, Budapest tickets and passes are valid for the entire length of the line.

The administrative borders of Budapest are as follows:

  • H5: Békásmegyer

  • H6: Millenniumtelep

  • H8: Ilonatelep

  • H9: Szabadságtelep


  • On suburban railway line H8, in case of travel between a stop within the administrative boundary of Budapest and Kistarcsa, kórház, the local tariff in Budapest is valid (tickets and passes must be redeemed in advance.

  • In the case transfers between lines H8 and H9 at Cinkota, if at least one of the stops of departure and destination is outside the administrative boundaries of Budapest, the local fare on Budapest is to be paid only once.

  • The annual all-line Budapest passes are valid for the entire length of all suburban railway lines.

  • Tickets purchased for the transport of dogs and bicycles, which can be used within Budapest, bicycle pass and dog pass are valid for the entire length of all suburban railway lines.

Tickets and passes can be purchased in advance at BKK sales points (customer offices, ticket offices, ticket vending machines (TVM)) and via MÁV mobile application. At stops in Budapest, suburban railway trains are to be boarded only in possession of a valid ticket, pass or travel document. To purchase a ticket on board without paying a penalty fare is possible only if the passenger boards at a stop outside Budapest where no ticket office or TVM is available. The ticket along with the certificate or ID proving eligibility for a discount must be handed over to the inspector.

More information about tickets and passes:

Please find the exact fares for each destinations on suburban railway lines H5, H6, H8 and H9 in the tables below.

Letölthető dokumentumokMéretDátum
H5 Batthyány tér ◄► Szentendre
1.76 MB
H6 Közvágóhíd ◄► Ráckeve
1.88 MB
H8 Örs vezér tere ◄► Gödöllő
1.95 MB
H9 Örs vezér tere ◄► Csömör
1.95 MB